National Honors

Five faculty in health professions recognized

Marlene Riley received the first Emerging and Innovative Practice Award from the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA). The clinical associate professor was one of only six occupational therapists in the nation to earn the honor, which “recognizes occupational therapy practitioners … who have developed innovative and/or non-traditional occupational therapy practices for underserved populations…”

Riley has helped develop two service-learning courses and directed students in outreach programs that serve at-risk children and adults.

The AOTA also recognized four others in the College of Health Professions. Faculty members Roxanne Castaneda, Lisa Crabtree, Barbara Demchick and Sonia Lawson were named AOTA fellows.

This distinction recognizes “occupational therapists who through their knowledge, expertise, leadership, advocacy, and/or guidance have made a significant contribution over time to the profession with a measured impact on consumers of occupational therapy services and/or members of the Association.”